Turbine overhauls out of town, as well as a week-long conference in Atlanta, have kept me quite busy this spring, and subsequently, I have not done much writing or drawing. I did manage to get the radishes, tomatoes, peppers, and kale into the ground, but have neglected many other important tasks. However, between the busy-ness (mostly during evenings in hotel rooms), I managed to scribble out a few portraits, and here they are. We also recently boarded a flight to Colombia, South America, and during flights and a layover in Panama, I was also able to scribble a few more portraits. Click on thumbnails to enlarge. Hope you enjoy and leave a note if you have a favorite.

The first 2 are people I know. Jenni is a restaurant owner who saw me drawing at my table and asked if I would draw a portrait of her from an old photo. Then there is Annyce who I have known for a couple decades. She was the one I drew with trepidation because although I wanted it to be flattering, I also wanted it to be artistic. I think I split the difference.

The next 2 portraits are of famous people. Wendell Berry is the prolific writer who is a poet, essayist, and novelist. If you have never read Berry, put him on your list. And then there is the young Bob Dylan, the musical and poetic genius that is a one-of-a-kind “vocal artist” who first made his mark in the 1960s and is still going strong. His wild unkempt hair was especially fun to draw.

Lastly, some sketches of muses from the Sktchy app plus a glass of wine. The colored painting was an experiment with acrylic.

3 thoughts on “Thirteen Scribbles

  1. I like the one of Annyce. I’m not sure why exactly…I like the way you did her hair and I love the expression on her face. All your work is amazing and always a pleasure to see.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.