Here are some of my recent ink portrait drawings. These are all based on reference photos from the Museum/Sktchy app where fellow artists (people I don’t really know) post photos for other portrait artists to draw. This incorporates little pressure to produce a perfect portrait. However, rumor has it that I will start drawing and posting portraits of people I actually know (what a concept, but scarier).

I prefer to draw portraits that are slightly skewed from realistic (if you want realism, there is a nifty device called a camera), and like to scribble as much as I can, especially for shaded contours. Regardless, here are my ink portraits drawn with a dip pen (dipped into a bottle of ink) paired with their reference drawings. Click to enlarge and arrow through the gallery if you like.

One thought on “Recent portrait drawings

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.